ACRS 2023 - Shunji Murai Award

ACRS 2023

Shunji Murai Award

Requirements to the applicants:

  1. The author shall be younger than or equal to 40 years old.
  2. The author shall be from an AARS Ordinary Member country or region.
  3. The paper shall have no more than three co-authors. Only the first-listed author will be considered for the Award.
  4. The paper must be 10 pages or less including figures, tables and images.


  1. The author should submit the full paper to the secretariat of the forthcoming ACRS by the deadline and obtain a confirmation letter.
  2. The paper and the award application form, including the Curriculum Vitae (CV) of the first author should also be sent to the office of the Japan Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (JSPRS), by e-mail to, no later than the deadline date of full paper submission. A paper arriving after the deadline date will not be considered for the Award.
  3. The Jury will select one excellent paper as the Award winner. The winner will be announced by the General Secretary in advance of the ACRS.

Requirements to the winner:

  1. The awardee must present the winning paper at the ACRS. Where the conference is a physical meeting, as opposed to on-line only, the awardee must also attend the ACRS. The paper will also be transferred to the Asian Journal of Geoinformatics (AJG) for peer-review and publication.

Contents of the Award:

  1. The winner will be presented with the Shunji Murai Award, along with the travel support payment, at the ACRS Opening Ceremony.
  2. The travel support, generously provided by the Japan Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (JSPRS), is $US 1000.

Jury: The Award winner will be selected by the Evaluation Committee with four to seven prominent professionals from AARS Ordinary Members and Associate Members.

Evaluation Committee:
Chair: Professor Junichi Susaki, Kyoto University, Japan
Emeritus Professor Armin Gruen, ETH, Switzerland
Professor Clive Fraser, Melbourne University, Australia
Dr. Dinh Duong Nguyen, Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology, Vietnam
Professor Peter Shih, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, China Taipei
Professor Mitsunori Yoshimura, Nihon University, Japan

Schedule for 2023:
Deadline of paper & application form submission: September 15, 2023
Announcement of the winner: October 15, 2023
Award presentation: November 3, 2023

Ms. Chiwako Fujino
Asian Association on Remote Sensing (AARS)
Park Court Bunkyo Koishikawa The Tower 5F
1-5-1 Koishikawa, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo
112-0002 Japan c/o JSPRS
P:81-3-5840-6606 / F:81-3-5840-6616

Application form: ApplicationForm_ACRS2023_Awards_ShunjiMurai.doc